HyreCar
A smiling woman with a tote bag takes a wrapped parcel through the open window of a car parked on a city street

What Is Uber Connect? How Uber's Local Package Delivery Works

What is Uber Connect? Uber's on-demand local delivery lets a driver carry an item to someone nearby. See how it works, item limits and price info.

Published5 min read
Skip to the article

Key takeaways

  • Uber Connect is the 2020 name for local package delivery in the Uber app: a driver picks up an item and delivers it to someone in the same area.
  • Uber's current page for the service is titled Courier; items must be allowed, securely sealed and fit comfortably in the requested vehicle.
  • In 2020, Uber described a limit of under 30 pounds and under $100 in value per trip; limits now vary by vehicle type and location, so check the app.
  • Uber does not publish a fixed price for the service, and says it does not insure items against loss, theft or damage caused by a third party.

What is Uber Connect? It is Uber’s local package delivery: a driver picks up an item and delivers it to a person at a drop-off location, and no postage is required. Uber’s current page for this kind of delivery is titled Courier. It describes it as a delivery option in the Uber app for everyday errands and small business to-dos, including same-day delivery, and does not use the name Connect in its text.[1]

This guide covers how the service works, what you can and cannot send, what Uber says about price and availability, and what it means for drivers.

What is Uber Connect and how does it work?

Uber announced the service in June 2020 as a same-day option for sending gifts, care packages, online sales and business documents to people nearby. Its announcement advertised no postage, on-demand pickup instead of waiting days, a driver who carries the package from your location and no direct contact with others.[2] Uber’s current page for the same kind of local delivery is called Courier. Both names appear in searches, so this guide uses them together.

On the sender’s side, Uber’s page says to go to the Uber app home screen, choose the Courier icon and follow the in-app instructions, adding any delivery notes. Senders and recipients can use live tracking, trip sharing and PIN delivery verification. The recipient should be ready to meet the driver at the door or curb. For a surprise delivery, Uber says you need to clearly instruct the delivery person, and it recommends telling the recipient in advance.

What can you send with Uber Connect?

Uber’s page sets a short set of rules. For vehicle delivery, the item must not be prohibited, must fit comfortably in the requested vehicle, and must be closed, securely sealed and ready for curbside or door pickup. Where bike or scooter delivery is offered, the item must fit comfortably in a backpack and meet the same sealing rule. Weight and value limits apply per vehicle type and location, but the page does not state the figures. To see which Uber vehicle types exist, read what UberX and other Uber car types are.

In 2020, Uber gave concrete numbers: under 30 pounds, under $100 in value per trip, and small enough to fit comfortably in the trunk of a midsize vehicle. Treat those as a dated reference, not a current rule, because Uber now says limits depend on the vehicle and the place. The 2020 announcement named alcohol, medication, recreational drugs and dangerous or illegal goods as examples of prohibited items.

Item Rule on Uber’s page
Packaging Closed and securely sealed
Size Fits comfortably in the requested vehicle (backpack for bike or scooter)
Prohibited items Not allowed; Uber links a full list
Weight and value Limits vary by vehicle type and location
Source: Uber Courier (Uber)

Compare car rental

500+ rental companies. Free cancellation on most bookings.

How much does Uber Connect cost?

Uber does not publish a fixed price for it. Neither the current service page nor the 2020 announcement lists a service fee, so a number quoted elsewhere is not an official figure. The price appears in the app once you enter the pickup and drop-off, and that quote is the amount that applies to your delivery. Searches for Uber Connect Saver or Connect Express point to cheaper or faster variants, but Uber’s pages do not describe either option, so none is covered here.

Tip: Enter the real pickup and drop-off addresses before you compare. Price depends on your trip and the vehicle you request, and Uber does not show a rate card.

Where is the service available?

Uber says the service is designed for local delivery within a single geographic area, excluding international border crossings, and that it is not available in all locations. Bike and scooter options depend on location. The 2020 announcement said the service was available in more than 25 cities across Australia, Mexico, Canada and the United States, a figure that is likely out of date. The app is the only reliable check: if the delivery option does not show for your pickup address, it is not offered there.

What does Uber say about lost or damaged items?

Uber states that it does not maintain insurance coverage for item loss, theft or damage caused by a third party. The 2020 announcement said the same. So do not send an item you cannot afford to lose, and keep it within the limits above.

If the recipient is unavailable, Uber says the sender may be responsible for return costs. Make sure someone is ready to meet the driver.

For undelivered, damaged or canceled deliveries, Uber directs you to Uber Support in the app.

What does it mean for drivers?

Uber’s page says Courier lets you request a driver through the Uber app, and that drivers can cancel for any reason, with examples such as a package that is too heavy, too large for the vehicle, not packaged securely or containing a prohibited item. Uber does not state a per-delivery pay figure on these pages, so this guide gives none. Whether delivery requests appear in your driver app depends on your city and your account, so check there instead of assuming access. For the food-delivery side of Uber, see Uber Eats age rules.

Is Uber Connect a good fit for your delivery?

It suits a small, sealed, low-value item that has to move across town today, where a postal service would take longer and a courier firm may be overkill. It does not suit anything fragile, valuable, restricted or heavy. Before you book, check four things: the item is on the allowed side of the prohibited list, it is sealed, it fits the vehicle, and the in-app price is acceptable. If any answer is no, choose another way to send it.

Frequently asked questions

What is Uber Connect?

Uber Connect is the name Uber used in 2020 for local package delivery inside the Uber app: a driver picks up an item from you and delivers it to someone else. Uber's current page for this kind of delivery calls it Courier.

How does Uber Connect work?

On Uber's current Courier page, you choose the Courier icon on the Uber app home screen and follow the in-app instructions, adding delivery notes if needed. Senders and recipients can then use live tracking, trip sharing and PIN delivery verification.

What can you send with Uber Connect?

Items that are not prohibited, are closed and securely sealed, and fit comfortably in the vehicle you request. Uber links a prohibited items list and says weight and value limits depend on vehicle type and location.

How much does Uber Connect cost?

Uber does not publish a fixed price on its service pages. The price is shown in the app for your pickup and drop-off before you confirm.

Can Uber drivers do Uber Connect deliveries?

Uber's page says Courier lets you request a driver through the Uber app, and that drivers can cancel for any reason, with examples such as a package that is too heavy, too large for the vehicle, not packaged securely or contains a prohibited item.

Sources

  1. [1]Uber Courier | Same-day local package delivery (Uber, US)uber.com
  2. [2]Uber Connect: easier than ever to send packages to others (Uber blog, June 10, 2020)uber.com

How we researched this guide

This guide is based on the sources listed above. Our editorial guidelines describe how guides are written, sourced and updated.

Our editorial guidelinesReport an error

Changes

  • — First published

Who wrote this guide

Written by

Editorial team

Guides on car rental, rideshare and delivery driving from the HyreCar editorial team, based on official rules and our experience.

Was this guide helpful?
Delivery apps

Postmates vs Grubhub for couriers in 2026: age rules, how orders arrive, pay components and cash-out options, compared from each service's official pages.

HyreCar Editorial TeamOct 15, 20265 min read

Delivery apps

Best food delivery service to work for? Compare how DoorDash, Uber Eats, Grubhub, Instacart, Shipt and Spark pay, and how to work out your own hourly rate.

HyreCar Editorial TeamOct 15, 202610 min read

Delivery apps

How old do you have to be to do DoorDash? 18 in most states, 19 in 13 states and 21 in California for new Dashers, plus vehicle and ID rules.

HyreCar Editorial TeamOct 15, 20267 min read