HyreCar
A man sits in the open door of a gray van at sunrise, holding a clipboard and looking into the distance

Amazon Flex Requirements: How to Apply, What to Check and What to Prepare (2026)

Amazon Flex requirements and how to apply: what to verify on Amazon's own pages, plus the insurance and tax questions to settle before you sign up.

Published6 min read
Skip to the article

Key takeaways

  • Amazon sets the Flex requirements and the application steps on its own Flex site and in the Flex app, and they differ by location, so the app is the final word.
  • This guide does not list Amazon's age, vehicle or screening rules: Amazon publishes them on its Flex site and in the Flex app, and they can differ by location.
  • Check in Amazon's Flex terms whether you are classed as an independent contractor: if you are, the IRS says there is generally no withholding, and insurance for delivery work is your own question to settle.
  • Insurance regulators advise calling your car insurer before using your car for delivery work, and the IRS says gig income must be reported.

Amazon Flex requirements are set by Amazon, and the only reliable list is the one on Amazon’s Flex site and in its Flex app. This guide does not quote an age limit, a vehicle list or a screening rule. Rather than copy those from a third-party page, it covers what you can settle yourself: how to apply, what to check on Amazon’s pages, and the insurance and tax questions that come before your first delivery. Pay is covered in a separate guide.

What is the Amazon Flex job?

Amazon Flex is Amazon’s delivery program, run through the Flex app. This guide does not state from Amazon’s own wording how drivers are classed or what transportation they use; the Flex terms in the app say so. The employee-or-contractor line matters, because the IRS says that, generally, you do not have to withhold or pay taxes on payments to independent contractors, and that the degree of control and independence decides which category a worker is in.[1] If Amazon’s terms class you as a contractor, nothing is withheld from your pay for you. Once you are approved, see how to use the Amazon Flex app.

How to become an Amazon Flex driver: the steps

Amazon runs the sign-up, so the exact screens can change. The general route is:

  1. Get the Flex app from the source Amazon names on its Flex site, so you know the app is the real one.
  2. Create an account and apply through the app, following the requirements it shows for your location.
  3. Provide the documents and information Amazon asks for. Do not send documents to anyone who is not Amazon.
  4. Wait for Amazon’s decision. No official page states how long it takes, so ignore any promise of a fixed time.
  5. Once approved, set up your payment and tax details in the app before taking the first delivery.

Apply only through the channels Amazon itself names. If a website or a person asks you for money to sign you up for Amazon Flex, treat it as a red flag and check with Amazon first.

How to sign up for Amazon Flex: what to check on Amazon’s pages

When you open Amazon’s requirements page or the sign-up steps in the app, read these points and write down the answer for your location:

Question Why it matters
Minimum age Your insurer may have its own age rules
Accepted vehicle types Your car may or may not qualify
Documents needed License, registration and insurance proof should match
Screening steps Know what is checked before you apply
Location availability Delivery work may not be available in every area at all times
Source: Checklist compiled by this guide; answers come from Amazon’s own pages.

Pay particular attention to anything the page leaves open. If a rule is not stated, ask Amazon through the app before you spend money on the car.

Compare car rental

500+ rental companies. Free cancellation on most bookings.

Amazon Flex driver application: what to prepare

Even without Amazon’s list, the usual documents are easy to prepare, and having them ready shortens the application:

  • A valid driver’s license that has not expired.
  • A vehicle registration and insurance card that show the same name and vehicle.
  • A phone that can run the current Flex app and holds enough battery for a full day of deliveries.
  • Bank details for payment, and the personal information you will be asked to enter.

Treat this as a preparation list, not a statement of what Amazon requires.

What about insurance?

This is the question most applicants skip. Wisconsin’s insurance regulator advises delivery drivers to call their car insurance company before using their car for work. It warns that without the right car insurance for delivery work you could get stuck paying big auto accident bills yourself, and it tells drivers to check what coverage the service provides and whether there is a gap between that and their personal policy.[2]

The NAIC adds that on-demand delivery workers often do not have the same insurance protections as drivers for ride-hailing companies, such as underinsured motorist injury coverage, although some states have considered legislation to extend it.[3] Ask your insurer in writing whether your policy excludes delivery use, what else you would need, and whether a lender or lease allows it. Flex’s own insurance terms are in Amazon’s materials, so read them in the app before you start.

What about taxes for Flex drivers?

If Amazon’s terms class you as an independent contractor, nobody withholds taxes for you. The IRS says income from the gig economy must be reported on a tax return even if it is not reported on an information form such as a 1099.[4] Keep a mileage log from the first delivery, save receipts for costs related to the work and set aside part of each payout. How much you owe depends on your situation, so ask a tax professional. The earnings guide for Flex covers the arithmetic.

Is Amazon Flex worth applying for?

The real decisions come after approval: whether your insurance covers the work, whether your car can take the mileage, and whether the delivery work in your area fits your schedule. Do the insurance and tax checks first. Then compare the pay shown on real offers with your costs, because Amazon’s pages did not give us any figure to rely on. For pay details, see how much Amazon Flex pays.

What should I do if I am not accepted?

There is no official statement of the reasons Amazon might decline an application, so do not rely on a list of disqualifiers from a third party. If your application is not approved, look for the message in the app, check that your documents are current and match each other, and contact Amazon’s support channel from the app for an explanation. Other delivery programs have their own rules, so a “no” from one is not a “no” from all.

Frequently asked questions

What are the requirements for Amazon Flex?

Amazon publishes them on its Flex site and in the Flex app, and they can differ by location. This guide does not list them. Check the current list in the app before you plan around any figure, including one from another website.

How do I apply for Amazon Flex?

Applications go through Amazon's own Flex channels, which for most people means the Flex app. Follow the steps there rather than a third party's, and be wary of any site that charges to sign you up.

How old do you have to be to be an Amazon Flex driver?

The minimum age is set by Amazon and can depend on the location, and we could not verify it from Amazon's pages. Check the requirements in the app, and ask your insurer whether it has its own age rules for delivery use.

Do you need your own car for Amazon Flex?

The accepted vehicles are set by Amazon and can vary by location, and we could not verify them from Amazon's pages. Confirm the current rules in the app and ask your insurer about delivery use.

Is Amazon Flex an employee job?

Amazon's own Flex terms state how drivers are classed, so read them in the app. The IRS says there is generally no withholding on payments to independent contractors, so if you are classed as one, you report the income and pay the taxes yourself.

Sources

  1. [1]Independent contractor (self-employed) or employee? (IRS)irs.gov
  2. [2]Share with Care: Understanding the Insurance Risks of the Sharing Economy (Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance)oci.wi.gov
  3. [3]Insurance Topics: Sharing Economy (NAIC)content.naic.org
  4. [4]Gig Economy Tax Center (IRS)irs.gov

How we researched this guide

This guide is based on the sources listed above. Our editorial guidelines describe how guides are written, sourced and updated.

Our editorial guidelinesReport an error

Changes

  • — First published

Who wrote this guide

Written by

Editorial team

Guides on car rental, rideshare and delivery driving from the HyreCar editorial team, based on official rules and our experience.

Was this guide helpful?
Driver and vehicle requirements

Are Uber drivers self-employed? Uber classifies drivers as independent contractors. See how the IRS and DOL tests work and what California's Prop 22 adds.

HyreCar Editorial TeamOct 15, 20265 min read

Driver and vehicle requirements

Best rideshare insurance options for Uber and Lyft drivers: coverage by period, the gap in personal policies and what to ask an insurer, from official sources.

HyreCar Editorial TeamOct 15, 20266 min read

Driver and vehicle requirements

Best electric car for Uber starts with EPA range and kWh per 100 miles. See example models, home charging costs, and the status of federal EV credits.

HyreCar Editorial TeamOct 15, 20265 min read