HyreCar
A gray hatchback parked at night on a wet pavement in front of a lit convenience store while a person carries a paper bag inside

How Much Do Gopuff Drivers Make? What Gopuff Says About Pay in 2026

How much do Gopuff drivers make? Gopuff publishes no figure. What its sign-up page says about pay, tips and requirements, and how to work out your net.

Published5 min read
Skip to the article

Key takeaways

  • Gopuff's delivery partner page says drivers get a transparent fee for every order plus 100% of their tips, but it publishes no dollar amount or hourly rate.
  • In the US, Gopuff asks for age 21 or older, a valid US driver's license, a vehicle insured in your name and an up-to-date smartphone.
  • The model is hub-based: you return to one centralized pickup location after each delivery, and delivery zones are small.
  • The IRS says gig income is taxable even without a 1099 form, so your real earnings are fees and tips minus costs and taxes.

How much do Gopuff drivers make? Gopuff does not say. Its delivery partner sign-up page promises a transparent fee for every order you deliver and 100% of your tips, but it gives no dollar figure, hourly rate or weekly range.[1] This guide covers what Gopuff does publish about the job and how to work out your own number, instead of repeating a figure that no official source backs.

What is Gopuff delivery?

Gopuff is a delivery service for everyday essentials. Its own description lists grocery, home, baby and pet essentials and over-the-counter medications, delivered to customers who want them quickly. A Gopuff driver is what Gopuff calls a delivery partner: a person who takes those orders from a Gopuff pickup location to the customer’s door. The sign-up page contrasts this with restaurant apps, saying you do not have to worry about which restaurant to go to.

Compare car rental

500+ rental companies. Free cancellation on most bookings.

How does the Gopuff driver model work?

Two details on the sign-up page set Gopuff apart from restaurant apps. The first is the centralized pickup location: you return to one pickup location after each delivery. The second is small delivery zones. Gopuff also says you can deliver as little or as much as you want, whenever you want.

For you, that has practical consequences. Orders come from one place. The trade-off is that your work depends on a hub near you, and the page offers a tool to search open locations. If no location is open near you, there is nowhere to sign up.

What does Gopuff ask of its drivers?

In the US, the sign-up page lists four requirements:

  • you are at least 21 years old;
  • you have a valid US driver’s license;
  • you have a vehicle with insurance in your name;
  • you have a smartphone with the most up-to-date operating system.

The UK has a separate list, with a minimum age of 18 and a different identity and insurance requirement. We cover the US version only. The page footer is dated 2022, so confirm the current requirements in the application. The 21 minimum is higher than at some other apps, so if you are 18 or 19 you should check the age rule of any app before applying.

How do Gopuff drivers get paid?

According to the page, partners are paid a transparent fee for each order and keep 100% of their tips. That is the whole of Gopuff’s published pay model. It does not state how the fee is set, how tips are shown, how often payouts arrive or whether there is a faster cash-out option, and the sign-up page carries none of that detail, so this guide does not guess.

This is why figures you may see for what Gopuff drivers make a day or a week should be treated with caution. Without a published rate, any figure is somebody’s experience in one city and period, not a Gopuff policy. For a comparison across apps, see the best food delivery services to work for.

What decides how much you can make with Gopuff?

Without published rates, you can still list what moves the result. These are factors to check, not claims about Gopuff:

  1. The fee shown on each order, and whether it is the same for a short trip and a long one.
  2. Tips, which Gopuff says you keep in full.
  3. How many orders you can complete per hour from the hub, which depends on demand where you live.
  4. Hours the hub is open and how many partners work them.
  5. Your costs: fuel, wear and insurance on your own vehicle.

How can you work out your own Gopuff earnings?

Use a simple method for the first few weeks. After each shift, note the total of fees and tips, the hours from when you start to when you finish, including waiting time, and the distance you drove. Subtract fuel and an allowance for wear, then divide by hours. That gives your net per hour, which is the only number that tells you whether Gopuff is worth it for you.

Tip: Compare that net figure with the same calculation for another app you could run in the same hours. A fee that looks high can disappear once waiting time and distance are counted.

What about taxes?

The IRS says income from the gig economy is taxable and must be reported on a tax return even if it comes from part-time or side work, or is not reported on a form such as a 1099.[2] Keep a record of income and driving costs from day one, and ask a tax professional what applies to you. This guide does not give tax advice.

Is Gopuff worth it?

Only your own numbers can settle that. Gopuff’s page offers flexibility, a fixed pickup point and full tips, and it asks for a vehicle you insure and an age of 21. It offers no promise of income, and neither do we. Read the terms of each offer in the app before accepting, track your first weeks as described above and decide from what you keep, not from a headline figure. If you need quick payouts, see gig apps that pay same day.

Frequently asked questions

How much do Gopuff drivers make?

Gopuff's delivery partner page publishes no amount. It says drivers earn a transparent fee for every order and keep 100% of tips, so the total depends on how many orders you deliver and the tips on them. The app shows the terms of an order before you accept.

What is a Gopuff driver?

A Gopuff driver, which Gopuff calls a delivery partner, delivers everyday essentials such as grocery, home, baby and pet items and over-the-counter medications from a Gopuff pickup location to customers.

How do Gopuff drivers get paid?

Gopuff's sign-up page says partners get a fee for every order and all of their tips. It does not describe a payout schedule or cash-out options, so check the payment terms in the app when you sign up.

What is the Gopuff driver age requirement?

Gopuff's US sign-up page lists 21 or older, with a valid US driver's license, a vehicle insured in your name and a smartphone. The UK page lists 18.

Is Gopuff worth it?

That depends on your costs and your local order volume. Gopuff publishes no average pay, so compare the fee and tip on offers with your fuel, wear and time before you decide.

Sources

  1. [1]Become a Delivery Partner (Gopuff)deliver.gopuff.com
  2. [2]Gig economy tax center (IRS)irs.gov

How we researched this guide

This guide is based on the sources listed above. Our editorial guidelines describe how guides are written, sourced and updated.

Our editorial guidelinesReport an error

Changes

  • — First published

Who wrote this guide

Written by

Editorial team

Guides on car rental, rideshare and delivery driving from the HyreCar editorial team, based on official rules and our experience.

Was this guide helpful?
Driver earnings

How much Lyft drivers make per ride is not one number. See how Lyft and Uber turn a fare into driver pay, what each keeps, and how tips and bonuses add up.

HyreCar Editorial TeamOct 15, 20265 min read