HyreCar
A smartphone lying on a wooden table next to a stack of twenty-dollar bills, a coffee mug and a potted plant

Gig Apps That Pay Same Day: Instant Cash-Out Fees and Limits for Drivers and Couriers

Gig apps that pay same day: how Uber, Lyft, DoorDash, Grubhub and Shipt let you cash out early, with each app's fee, limit and bank conditions.

Published5 min read
Skip to the article

Key takeaways

  • Same-day pay on these apps means an on-demand cash-out to a debit card or bank account, usually for a fee, while the regular payout stays weekly.
  • Uber lists up to 6 cash-outs a day and a fee shown in the app; Lyft lists $1.75 per transfer, up to 5 times in 24 hours; DoorDash lists $1.99, once a day.
  • Grubhub lists Instant Cash Out up to $500 a day, free for Chase customers and $0.50 per transfer for other banks; Shipt describes on-demand payouts up to 3 times a day once a shopper is eligible.
  • Speed after the tap depends on your bank: Grubhub says banks without Real Time Payments can take a few days, and DoorDash says transfers can take up to a few business days to show as available.

Gig apps that pay same day all work in a similar way: your earnings sit in the app until the weekly payout, and a cash-out button moves what you have already earned to a debit card or bank account right away, usually for a fee. This guide compares the cash-out features of five apps that publish them, with fees, daily limits and the bank conditions that can slow a transfer. It does not rank the apps or say what any of them will pay you.

Which rideshare apps pay same day?

Uber calls its feature Instant Pay. Its page says you can cash out up to 6 times a day, that most US drivers and delivery people can use it after the first trip, and that a debit card is all you need.[1] A personal debit card carries a per-cash-out fee, and Uber’s pages do not give one consistent figure, so check the amount the app shows before you confirm. Uber’s Pro Card, a debit Mastercard with a linked bank account, is listed with free automatic payouts after every trip. The page says money usually lands in the card account right away but can take a few business days, depending on your bank.

Lyft’s version is Express Pay. Lyft’s help page lists a $1.75 fee per transfer, a minimum of $6.75 in earnings, and up to five cash-outs every 24 hours, with a cap of under $3,000 per transfer.[2] It says the fee is waived for Lyft Direct debit cards. New York drivers have their own terms: a $5 minimum and one cash-out a day. Anything you do not cash out goes into the weekly deposit on Tuesdays.

Which delivery apps pay same day?

DoorDash calls it Fast Pay. Drivers in the United States and Canada can cash out once a day for $1.99 to a debit card linked to the account, and prepaid cards do not qualify.[3] Earnings left over by Sunday night go into the weekly direct deposit, which takes 2 to 3 business days. DoorDash Crimson, its banking account, is a separate route to instant pay. For the account that replaced the old card, see what replaced the Dasher Direct card.

Grubhub’s Instant Cash Out lets drivers move earnings to a bank account or debit card whenever they like, up to $500 a day, free for Chase Bank customers and $0.50 per transfer for other banks.[4] Direct deposit goes out on Thursdays. Grubhub’s FAQ adds the bank side: if your bank does not support Real Time Payments, the transfer can take a few days, and weekend requests may not appear until Monday.[5]

Shipt offers Instant Payout once you are eligible, which means agreeing to the Stripe Connect terms and receiving at least one successful weekly payout.[6] It lets shoppers transfer available funds on demand 3 times a day instead of waiting for the Friday direct deposit. Shipt’s page does not state a fee.

Walmart’s Spark Driver page says drivers can receive earnings through online banking or direct deposit, delivered by third-party providers with their own terms, and gives no same-day schedule.[7] A same-day option there depends on the provider you choose inside the app.

Same-day cash-out compared

App Feature Fee (as listed) Limit
Uber Instant Pay Per-cash-out fee on a personal debit card (check the app); free with Uber Pro Card payouts Up to 6 a day
Lyft Express Pay $1.75; waived for Lyft Direct Up to 5 in 24 hours; $6.75 minimum
DoorDash Fast Pay $1.99 Once a day; debit card, not prepaid
Grubhub Instant Cash Out $0.50; free for Chase customers Up to $500 a day
Shipt Instant Payout Not stated 3 a day once eligible
Source: Uber, Lyft, DoorDash, Grubhub and Shipt official pages

Compare car rental

500+ rental companies. Free cancellation on most bookings.

Is paying a fee for instant pay worth it?

A flat fee takes a bigger bite out of small balances. As an illustration only: with a flat $1.75 fee, as Lyft lists, a $25 cash-out costs 7% and a $100 cash-out costs 1.75%. The arithmetic suggests cashing out less often, in larger amounts, when the weekly payout can wait. That is a cost comparison, not advice, and your needs for cash today may outweigh a small fee.

What can slow a same-day payout?

  • Your bank. Apps can send the transfer immediately, but the bank decides when it posts, and weekends and holidays add delay.
  • A new card or bank detail. Lyft adds a 48-hour wait after you add a card, and Grubhub blocks Instant Cash Out for 72 hours after you update bank information.
  • The wrong card type. DoorDash and Lyft both exclude prepaid cards, and Lyft needs a debit card tied to a checking account.
  • Account holds. Lyft lists rides in review and backup withholding as reasons Express Pay is unavailable.

Apps outside driving and delivery have their own payout rules and are not covered here. One name that still turns up in searches is Steady, which SteadyIQ’s company page says started as a consumer app for workers and now focuses on government income verification, so it is not a payout option.[8] Our guide to using Steady to earn money covers its current status.

Frequently asked questions

Which gig apps pay same day?

Uber, Lyft, DoorDash, Grubhub and Shipt each describe an on-demand cash-out feature on their official pages. Most charge a small fee per transfer, and each has its own limits on how often you can use it.

Do delivery apps that pay same day charge for it?

Usually, yes. DoorDash lists $1.99 per Fast Pay cash-out, Grubhub lists $0.50 per transfer except for Chase customers, and Uber and Lyft list per-transfer fees on their pages. Shipt's pay page describes Instant Payout without stating a fee.

Are there driving apps that pay same day for free?

Some paths waive the fee. Uber's page lists free automatic payouts after every trip with the Uber Pro Card, Lyft's Express Pay page says the fee is waived for Lyft Direct debit cards, and Grubhub's Instant Cash Out is free for Chase Bank customers.

How fast does the money arrive after a cash-out?

It depends on your bank. Uber says funds usually arrive right away but can take a few business days, Lyft says earnings can appear within a few hours or days, and Grubhub says banks that support Real Time Payments receive funds within moments.

What is the regular payout schedule if I do not cash out early?

Lyft's page says unpaid earnings go out in the weekly deposit on Tuesdays, Grubhub says direct deposit is sent on Thursdays, Shipt says direct deposit arrives on Fridays, and DoorDash pays by weekly direct deposit.

Sources

  1. [1]Instant Pay - Cash Out Your Earnings up to 6 Times a Day (Uber)uber.com
  2. [2]Express Pay (Lyft Help)help.lyft.com
  3. [3]What is Fast Pay? (DoorDash Help Center)help.doordash.com
  4. [4]Grubhub driver pay calculation (Grubhub for Drivers)driver.grubhub.com
  5. [5]Grubhub driver FAQs (Grubhub for Drivers)driver.grubhub.com
  6. [6]Shopper Pay (Shipt Shopper Help Center)shoppers.shipt.com
  7. [7]Earnings (Spark Driver app, Walmart)sparkdriverapp.com
  8. [8]About us (SteadyIQ)steadyiq.com

How we researched this guide

This guide is based on the sources listed above. Our editorial guidelines describe how guides are written, sourced and updated.

Our editorial guidelinesReport an error

Changes

  • — First published

Who wrote this guide

Written by

Editorial team

Guides on car rental, rideshare and delivery driving from the HyreCar editorial team, based on official rules and our experience.

Was this guide helpful?
Getting paid

Postmates tip explained from Uber's help center: tip at checkout or after delivery, change it for an hour, add one for 40 days, cash and where it goes.

HyreCar Editorial TeamOct 15, 20265 min read

Getting paid

Dasher Direct, DoorDash's legacy banking program, ended on April 1, 2025. DoorDash Crimson, a Visa debit account from Starion Bank, replaced it. Fees and steps.

HyreCar Editorial TeamOct 15, 20267 min read

Getting paid

How do DoorDash drivers get paid? What each offer pays, how tips and promotions are added, Earn by Time, and when direct deposit and Fast Pay arrive.

HyreCar Editorial TeamOct 15, 20266 min read